## EDUCATION

## UNIVERSITIES AND COLLEGES BY PROVINCES.

The following is a description of the facilities for higher education in Canada, by provinces.

Prince Édward Island.—Students who have passed the entrance examinations attend the Prince of Wales College at Charlottetown, in which a three years' course is arranged. Successful candidates of the third year are admitted as third year students in Dalhousie University, and those of the second year enter as second year students in all the Eastern Canadian universities. St. Dunstan's College, Charlottetown, which is a Roman Catholic institution and receives no government support, is affiliated to Laval University, and prepares its students for B.A. and B.L. degrees.

Nova Scotia.—The universities that have degree-conferring powers are four in number, mostly with denominational affiliations. The largest had in 1916 an enrolment of 339, and of all four the enrolment was 758. They are independent of the Education Department, but have affiliated to them first the Technical College, and secondly the teachers' examination system, graduation from a recognized university—a four years' course following a matriculation standard approximating the high school grade XII pass—being accepted in lieu of some departmental examinations.

Technical Education in Nova Scotia.—The Nova Scotia Technical College, established in 1907 at Halifax, is affiliated to the universities of the Atlantic provinces, which have agreed to teach the first two years of the course, leaving only the last two years, which require the more expensive equipment, for the provincial institution. The three buildings, with their laboratories and apparatus, cost about \$300,000; they provide facilities for scientific research and professional training in civil, mining, mechanical, chemical and electrical engineering, architecture, navigation, etc. The principal of the college is also director of technical education for the province. Coal mining and engineering schools are provided at the greater industrial centres; and local evening technical schools are established in the most populous centres, covering a large variety of subjects. A Correspondence Teaching Department has been organized in connection with the college.

New Brunswick.—The public school course of the province leads up to, and is completed in the University of New Brunswick, which is supported by government grants, fees from students and the income from endowments. It is situated at Fredericton. The senate, its governing body, is composed of fourteen members, nine of whom, including the president and chancellor, are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council; four are elected by the associated alumni of the university, and one is elected by the Educational Institute of New Brunswick. The president and chancellor are permanent members of the senate; the others hold office, some for two and others for three years. The Chief Superintendent of Education is ex-officio president of the senate of the university. The chancellor of the university is the chairman of the faculty, and the administrator of the affairs of the university. He is appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. The senate of the university appoints the professors and other officers, and fixes their salaries. The